First United Methodist Church Rusk Tx

Leadership Team Chairpersons

» Pastor - Sunny Farley
» Staff-Parish Relations - Sissy Crysup
Serves as the local church administrative unit in which lay and clergy spiritual leaders integrate the staff and congregational interests to focus on the mission of the church. Responsibilities include managing relationships between the pastor, any ordained leaders, lay staff, the congregation, the community, the district superintendent and the United Methodist connectionaly church.
» Trustees -
Your Trustees manage church property, equipment and investments to support the vision & mission of the church. This will include everything from maintaining adequate insurance coverage to maintenance of the air conditioner, heating, and/or any needed improvements relating to same. Annual reports are provided to the charge conference on the state of the church's property & resources.
» Finance -
The finance committee manages the financial system for the congregation. This includes depositing, recording & disbursing of funds; communicating the church's financial position to the congregation; maintaining integrity of the accounting books; preparation of the annual budget; monitoring the progress of the budget as the year unfolds; making recommendations for the anticipated budget shortfalls; working with committee chairs to ensure their goals are realistically attainable given the economies of the church; reporting finance activities to the Church Council; work with the church CPA/Accountant to insure each individual members' giving record is accurate and provide that record to each at the end of the church year or upon request at mid-year.
» Lay Leader - Steve Sloterdijk
Serves as the lay representative of the laity fostering awareness of laity within the congregation and through their ministries in the home, workplace, community & world. Assists in advising the church council of opportunities to develop understandings of the type of ministry that will most effectively fulfill the Church's mission.
» At Large - Larry Long
» Ex Officio - Frances Long & Sunny Farley
» Nominations Team
Chair - Sunny Farley
Forrest Phifer
Martha Neely
Lisa Greer
Johnny Williams
Betty Townsend
Jeanie Stewart
» Ministry Team Chairs:
Family Life -
Prayer -
Scouts -
Historian -
Safe Sanctuary -
Worship -
Mission Team -
Education -
Children's Ministry -

Come Join us!
Sundays: Meet & Greet - 9:45 a.m. ~ Sunday School - 10:00 a.m ~ Sunday Worship - 11:00 a.m.

First United Methodist Church
255 S. Henderson St.
P O Box 99
Rusk, TX 75785
Office: 903-683-4675
Fax: 903-683-2231

Home :: Give On-Line :: On-Line Prayer Request :: Calendar/Events :: Prayer Concerns :: History :: Meet Our Pastor